Drivers to See Many New Transportation Laws in 2015

Of the 200+ new laws that will take effect on Thursday of this week, several will affect drivers and the transportation industry. The new laws include:

PA 98-1074 (HB 5326) Public transportation registration fees
There is an annual $8 registration fee for all PACE vehicles.  This law changes the annual fee to a one-time $8 fee.

PA 98-1103 (SB 2802) Proof of online license plate renewal
Allows a printed receipt of online license plate renewal to serve as proof of renewal until the sticker is received in the mail.

PA 98-0726 (HB 4422) Secretary of State omnibus bill
The omnibus bill for the Secretary of State makes the following changes: under the Illinois Identification Card Act, expands the definition of “disability” to include “oncological impairments” within Class 1A and Class 2A disabilities. It also amended the Illinois Vehicle Code concerning the Secretary of State’s discretionary authority to suspend or revoke the driver’s license or permit of military personnel. It removes the “J48 restriction” from statute. This restriction limits a driver to operating only a school bus and no other type of commercial motor vehicle.

PA 98-0870 (SB 2583) “Sign and drive” in Illinois
This new law institutes “sign and drive” in Illinois by prohibiting the confiscation of a motorist’s driver’s license as bail when stopped and cited for a minor (no jail time) traffic offense.  Since 9/11, the need for appropriate, state-issued photo identification has become a necessity in order to travel, obtain health-care, renting vehicles, etc. The driver’s license is still the standard, accepted form of photo identification.

PA 98-0746 (HB 5895) Nighttime BiOptic driving permits
Allows persons using non-traditional visual aid instruments, such as BiOptics, to apply for a special, restricted driver’s training permit. Currently, no process exists for drivers who wear bioptic lenses to practice driving prior to taking the nighttime road test. The permit would allow the applicant to drive from sunset to 10:00 p.m. for six months as long as the applicant is accompanied by a person who has a valid driver’s license with no nighttime driving restrictions. BiOptic glasses are vision enhanced lenses with extreme magnification.

PA 98-0747 (HB 5897) BiOptic driving license renewal 
Allows people who utilize BiOptics (vision enhanced lenses with extreme magnification) for nighttime driving to take a behind-the-wheel road renewal test every 4 years instead of annually. Maintains provisions in current law that require all BiOptic lens wearers to submit a Vision Specialist Report each year. Specifies that the Secretary of State may cancel a special restricted license for nighttime driving if the licensee violates any provision of the Illinois Vehicle Code during nighttime hours or is involved in a motor vehicle accident during nighttime hours for which the license holder is at fault.

PA 98-0737 (HB 5468) Window tinting certificate renewal
Permits a person who has been issued medical certificates allowing tinted windows on their vehicle to renew their medical certificate every 4 years rather than annually.

PA 98-0734 (HB 4743) County procedures for release of impounded vehicles
Counties, in addition to municipalities, may adopt administrative procedures for the release of impounded vehicles. This legislation is intended to be a source of income for counties on impounded vehicles that were used in commission of specified offenses and for the imposition of a reasonable administrative fee related to the county’s administrative and processing costs associate with the removal, impoundment, storage, and release of the vehicle.

PA 98-0884 (HB 3685) Waivers for licenses for certain bus drivers
Drivers of buses for religious organizations, senior citizen transportation services and for-profit ridesharing arrangement services are required to hold a valid drivers’ license for three years prior to the date of their application. This law allows an applicant to remain eligible if their license lapsed for less than 30 days during that time, and to apply for a waiver from the Secretary of State if the lapse was longer.

PA 98-0971 (SB 3402) Vehicular Dealer Plates & Repair
Provides that dealer plates issued by another state shall exempt a vehicle from the registration requirements of the Illinois Vehicle Code only while it is being transported to a repair facility within this State as evidenced by a work order or contract with the repair facility, and is displayed to a law enforcement officer upon request.

PA 98-0847 (SB 3290) Noise exemptions at off-road riding facilities
In a Section concerning off-road riding facilities, exempts owners or operators from civil and criminal liability arising out of or as a consequence of noise or sound emissions resulting from the use (instead of "normal use") of the off-road riding facility.

PA 98-0728 (HB 4687) Fees for shipping radioactive material 
For truck shipments of less than 100 miles in Illinois that consist entirely of cobalt-60 or other medical isotopes or both, the $2,500 per truck fee shall be reduced to $1,500 for the first truck and $750 for each additional truck in the same shipment.

2 comments :

Mike Lintro said...

It is interesting how they will change a one time fee to be annual. Does that change for everyone? Or just for the people in the future. Although $8 a year is practically nothing, if you thought that you would never have to worry about that fee again, it is annoying that the state would come back on a deal like that. But I can see how that would help them a lot. http://www.tlc-inc.com/driver-vehicle/pricelist/

bryan flake said...

This is going to be great to be allowed to wait four years to update my window tinting license. It got a bit crazy having to update the certificate each year. There sure is a lot of mental comfort in an every four year process. All I want is to be able to have good sight while I am driving.
http://www.pacifictintphoenix.com